The Missing Petals

Image

I spent the night tossing and turning on my bed. I would close my eyes for some time and then open them again. It made no difference. Darkness. Now and again I would scream out of frustration. “I’m a fighter, I’m strong,” I would tell myself. “I’ll never fight anymore,” a voice from inside would retort.

 

And I wept myself to sleep. The next morning went the same. The same man talked aimlessly to no one in particular in the next room. Doctors came, checked on me and left wordlessly. A male nurse helped me walk up to the bathroom whenever I needed. My mom kept trying to cheer me up and get me talking, but in vain. Exasperated, she left by noon.

 

“You were screaming again after I left last night,” I heard her voice. It was past 2a.m. and I was lying awake in bed. Somehow, her company in these lonely nights was annoyingly comforting.

 

“Do you eavesdrop?” I asked.

 

“No, not really. I was woken up by your sobs.”

 

I squinted at the word “sobs”.

 

“I must have awoken the other room’s patient too,” I said, remembering the man’s voice from the morning before.

 

Strangely enough, she laughed when I said this.


The above lines are an excerpt from one of the best short stories I’ve recently read. You, too, can read it at http://yourstoryclub.com/short-stories-love/love-short-story-missing-petals/
This short story is not written by me but by a friend; believe me, I’m not sharing it because she is a friend but because her work is worth appreciating and sharing. The love story that blossoms in the end will surely bring a smile at your face while your eyes being moist.
In case you don’t like love stories, you should still read it ’cause it’s regular romantic story but much more than it. The message is wonderful too.
You can read the author’s work at Adwitiya Borah
Hope you all like it. 🙂

Thanks!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “The Missing Petals

  1. quirkybooks July 20, 2013 at 11:01 pm Reply

    It seems an interesting read. I know a while ago you wanted me to read another story that you had written, apologies for not having done so, I have been and continue to be, mega-busy at the moment. I worked through the night last night to finish my http://www.beatredundancyblues.co.uk website for it’s official launch today and I have my writing website that I need to focus on next. Plus I have been approached by people from two companies to write blog posts for them. I am still working on two e-Books. I was in London during the earlier part of this week, meeting HM the Queen at St James’s Palace. I was honoured that I got the opportunity to speak to her.

Leave a Reply

